Things You Didn’t Know About Soccer Star Samuel Eto’o

Express.co.uk Express.co.uk

Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o is easily one of the most recognizable footballers from the African continent. The  striker made a name for himself during his years in Spain’s La Liga football association. He remains one of Cameroon’s top players, as well as a key contributor for Chelsea in the Premier League, where he now plays. Here are 17 things you didn’t know about soccer star Samuel Eto’o.

Sources: Biography.com, BBC.com, Wikipedia.com, ChelseaFC.com, AskMen.com, BBC Sport, Sports.yahoo.com

MAJOR LEAGUE SOCCER Ryan Nelsen out, Greg Vanney in as TFC coach .

Although the timing of his firing was very curious, Ryan Nelsen’s fate as Toronto FC coach wasn’t sealed when he publicly shot back at Tim Bezbatchenko regarding the GM’s comments about the players needing to raise their game.

It was sealed in January of 2013 when then-club president Kevin Payne plucked Nelsen from the ranks of Queens Park Rangers, where he was still patrolling the defence as active player, and installed him as the Reds’ eighth coach in team history. This was doomed to fail right from the start.

History, of course, records Nelsen as the all-time leader in MLS wins among Toronto FC coaches. Take that statistic with a mountain—never mind a grain—of salt. His hiring was heralded by TFC as a bold move, but in fact it was a misguided showing of faith in the New Zealand international who they thought would grow into the job. It turned out to be a gross miscalculation.

Simply put, Nelsen shouldn’t have been hired in the first place.

My first blind date #WanjasWall

I went on my first blind date a few years ago, and it was the worst blind date in the history of ever. This blind date was planned by my late father (may his soul keep resting in sweet, everlasting bliss).

Wanja K

That mid morning, I showed up on time at the venue of the blind date, which was the blind date’s office, to find my blind date (no, not visually impaired) already sitting behind his desk waiting for me.

“Good morning,” I good morninged him.

He was a mature man with greying hair, pronounced frown-lines and crow’s feet that I found rather cute, especially when he crinkled his nose and his eyes narrowed. His eyes were behind a pair of lenses held in a russet frame. His crooked smile that showed his pearl whites made him look handsome-ish and friendly. He stood up to shake my hand and let me know how lovely I looked. He then asked me to have a seat, after which we engaged in small talk, the most grueling thing to ever exist, which led to interesting chatter and banter, and I silently decided that I liked him. I silently judged that he was unlike the rest, that he seemed to be different in a better way. As a lull made it’s sudden entrance into our conversation, he excused himself and got up and started doing a few things on another desk. He then excused himself again and left the office. He came back less than a minute later, pulled a different chair and asked me to sit down and relax. I sat down, but I did not relax. His demeanor had changed a bit and my instincts were beginning to stir.

He adjusted the chair I was sitting on so that it reclined. Again, he asked me to relax, softly, as he placed his hand on my cheek. I became jittery and tense.
“I will not hurt you,” he whispered. “At least I will try my best not to. Relax.”
Then he went ahead and violated me. He abused me. He debauched me. He defiled me. Ruthlessly. Brutally. He callously executed his gruesomely vile acts of sadism upon me, and I was completely helpless.
How I got up from that chair, after he was done, and made my way home, is a tale only God can tell because I still do not know.
“Oh my goodness! What happened?” asked my father upon seeing me. “Are you okay? Have you been crying? You look terrible!”
I sniffed.
“You lied to me,” I bawled. “He is no different. He’s an animal.”
“Who? What are you talking about?”
I sobbed.
“Him. I thought he wouldn’t even touch me.”
“Oh my God. What did he do to you?”
I sobbed harder.
“He did two x-rays, scraped things from my teeth and filled two cavities. It was ouchy, but the injections were the most painful,” I said as I touched my swollen face.
“Oh, that’s good then. He did a good job.”
I blew my nose.
“I hate dentists,” I wept.
The dentist moved to another town many months later, so I was left dentistless, and I have been so for a long time now. I’m on the verge of asking for someone, anyone, to fix another blind date for me. All the sugar I’ve been consuming has turned my teeth into the most hellish nightmare.

A prosperous new month to you all, and if you care for your dignity, do not go on blind dates, especially with a dentist, in his/her office. And if you have to, please brush your teeth thoroughly. It will really hurt your feelings when they mumble incoherent things after excavating decomposing food particles from your teeth that look like last night’s dinner. I say this from experience.\

My first blind date #WanjasWall

Arsenal

Arsenal have not offered a deal to Nikola Zigic, the player’s agent is looking to force through a move to a Turkish club before the end of the transfer window.

Arsene Wenger is content that a combination of Sanogo, Joel Campbell, Alexis Sanchez and Theo Walcott will suffice for the Gunners.

They have though made an offer for Borussia Dortmund centre-back Sokratis Papasthatopoulos. With the Greek international behind Hummels and Subotic with the German club, a deal could go ahead.

EPL Season: 2014-2015

Season: 2014-2015
Sunday 31 August 2014
16:00 Leicester 1 – 1 Arsenal King Power Stadium
13:30 Aston Villa 2 – 1 Hull Villa Park
13:30 Spurs 0 – 3 Liverpool White Hart Lane
Saturday 30 August 2014
17:30 Everton 3 – 6 Chelsea Goodison Park
15:00 Man City 0 – 1 Stoke Etihad Stadium
15:00 Newcastle 3 – 3 Crystal Palace St. James’ Park
15:00 QPR 1 – 0 Sunderland Loftus Road Stadium
15:00 Swansea 3 – 0 West Brom Liberty Stadium
15:00 West Ham 1 – 3 Southampton Boleyn Ground
12:45 Burnley 0 – 0 Man Utd Turf Moor
Monday 25 August 2014
20:00 Man City 3 – 1 Liverpool Etihad Stadium
Sunday 24 August 2014
16:00 Sunderland 1 – 1 Man Utd Stadium of Light
13:30 Hull 1 – 1 Stoke The KC Stadium
13:30 Spurs 4 – 0 QPR White Hart Lane
Saturday 23 August 2014
17:30 Everton 2 – 2 Arsenal Goodison Park
15:00 Chelsea 2 – 0 Leicester Stamford Bridge
15:00 Crystal Palace 1 – 3 West Ham Selhurst Park
15:00 Southampton 0 – 0 West Brom St. Mary’s Stadium
15:00 Swansea 1 – 0 Burnley Liberty Stadium
12:45 Aston Villa 0 – 0 Newcastle Villa Park
Monday 18 August 2014
20:00 Burnley 1 – 3 Chelsea Turf Moor
Sunday 17 August 2014
16:00 Newcastle 0 – 2 Man City St. James’ Park
13:30 Liverpool 2 – 1 Southampton Anfield
Saturday 16 August 2014
17:30 Arsenal 2 – 1 Crystal Palace Emirates Stadium
15:00 Leicester 2 – 2 Everton King Power Stadium
15:00 QPR 0 – 1 Hull Loftus Road Stadium
15:00 Stoke 0 – 1 Aston Villa Britannia Stadium
15:00 West Brom 2 – 2 Sunderland The Hawthorns
15:00 West Ham 0 – 1 Spurs Boleyn Ground
12:45 Man Utd 1 – 2 Swansea Old Trafford

.